Melbourne Law School is Australia’s oldest law school, founded in 1857. Part of the University of Melbourne, the school enjoys a strong international reputation, especially in international law.

The Asia Pacific Centre for Military Law (APCML) is a collaborative initiative of Defence Legal Division and Melbourne Law School.

Melbourne Law School is supporting the work of PREMT through a seed grant from its Major Collaborative Projects Fund. PREMT operates out of APCML’s university node, located at Melbourne Law School.

The Australian Research Council (ARC) is the Australian government’s main agency for for funding research in all fields of science, the social sciences, and the humanities.

PREMT is supported under ARC’s Discovery Projects funding scheme (DP130100432, ‘Emerging Technologies of Warfare as a Challenge to the Law of Armed Conflict: Cyber-Attacks, Robotics and Nanotechnology’; Chief Investigators: Tim McCormack and Rain Liivoja; Partner Investigator: Bob Mathews).

Founded by the late Swiss entrepreneur Dr Branco Weiss and administered by ETH Zurich, Society in Science funds post-doctoral researchers in sciences, engineering and social sciences who are willing to engage in a dialogue on relevant social, cultural, political or economic issues across the frontiers of their particular discipline.

Rain Liivoja is a recipient of a Society in Science – Branco Weiss Fellowship to undertake research on the regulatory implications of miliary uses of human performance enhancement and degradation techniques.

The Defence Science and Technology Group (DSTG) is the Australian government’s lead agency responsible for applying science and technology to safeguard Australia and its national interests.

DSTG has contracted PREMT to undertake a research project on the ‘Legal and Ethical Implications of Emerging and Disruptive Technology’.

The Defence Science Institute (DSI) is a collaborative research initiative of the University of Melbourne and the Defence Science and Technology Organisation that creates defence science research networks for Australia.

Kobi Leins is a recipient of a DSI doctoral scholarship.

The Australian-American Fulbright Commission promotes education and cultural exchange between Australia and the United States in order to enhance mutual understanding and strengthen relations between the two countries. The Commission facilitates this through the implementation of the Fulbright program and other scholarships and exchanges.

Tim McCormack has been awarded a 2015 Fulbright Senior Scholarship to take up the position of Charles H Stockton Distinguished Scholar-in-Residence at the Stockton Center for the Study of International Law, US Naval War College.

Chris Jenks has been awarded a 2015 Fulbright Senior Scholarship to be a Visiting Scholar at the Asia Pacific Centre for Military Law.